Kansas farmers and ranchers devastated by December fires eligible for emergency loans

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – Farmers and ranchers in 10 Kansas counties affected by disastrous wildfires in December can apply for emergency loans through the States Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) States (USDA).

The December 15, 2021 wildfires were sparked by high winds blowing between 60 and 100 mph. The fires damaged buildings, crops, pastures, bridges, roads and utilities. The damage estimate is $15 million.

Today, the USDA announced that Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has declared two Kansas counties primary natural disaster areas – Ellis and Russell – making them eligible for emergency loans. These counties beside Ellis and Russell are also eligible:

  • barton
  • Ellsworth
  • lincoln
  • Nes
  • Osborne
  • Towers
  • To rush
  • Trego

This natural disaster designation allows the USDA FSA to issue emergency credit to farmers and ranchers trying to recover from fires. the emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs, including the replacement of essential assets such as equipment or livestock, the reorganization of a farming operation or the refinancing of certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

The deadline to apply for the loans is October 11.

To see more help options, visit Farmers.govthe Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance Fact Sheet at a Glanceand Agricultural Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Claim or to inquire about available programs, contact your USDA Service Center.

Comments are closed.