Employees of Jefferson Co. and Berkeley Co. Schools Named State Finalists for Teacher of the Year, Service Staff of the Year | Journal-news

CHARLES TOWN — Two employees working for Jefferson County Schools and one for Berkeley County Schools have been nominated for statewide awards by the West Virginia Board of Education.

Wendy Dodson, who works at the JCS central office, is a finalist for West Virginia Service Staff of the Year, and Jefferson High agriculture teacher Charity Marstiller is a finalist for year in West Virginia.

The West Virginia Department of Education nominates finalists each year for showing exemplary work in their positions at West Virginia schools.

The best part of the job, Dodson said, is the chance to serve the community.

“I’m backstage,” Dodson said. “But it’s helping people get what they need that makes the job satisfying.”

Dodson worked with Responsive Education in Jefferson County, which helps run career technology and adult learning classes in schools. Dodson also worked with Spanish-speaking families in Jefferson. Spanish-speaking families come to Dodson to help them navigate the public school system and connect them with translators.

“It’s very humbling that people who don’t know me have recognized my work,” Dodson said.

For Marstiller, the best part of the job is watching his students have “aha” moments.

“Sometimes the smile of an ‘aha’ moment comes from something big or small,” Marstiller said. “But either way, the smiles on their faces are worth it.”

Marstiller went to North Carolina and is working to get certified in food science and safety. The Restoration course serves as a potential third science credit for students at Jefferson High School.

“I can implement new ideas, activities, and labs with this class,” Marstiller said. “It’s about helping students better understand the steps a food product takes from farm to fork.

Kaare Mejias was also nominated for West Virginia School Staff of the Year. Mejias worked for 15 years as financial secretary for North Middle School in Martinsburg.

Mejias favorite part of the job is working with and supporting students.

“They make everyday life fun and interesting. They just add a bit of drama to college,” she said. “I’ve received so much love from my school family. I’m grateful and a bit overwhelmed – but in a good way.

The winners of the West Virginia Department of Education awards will be announced Sept. 13 at a ceremony to be held at the West Virginia Cultural Center in Charleston. Other finalists for Teachers of the Year include: Sarah Bailey, from Buffalo Middle School in Wayne County, Lisa Bryant, from Point Pleasant Elementary School in Mason County, Amber Nichols, from Eastwood Elementary in Monongalia County, David Patrick from DuPont Middle School in Kanawha County, Angel Reed from Fairplain Elementary School in Jackson County, Shawna Safreed from Bridge Street Middle School in of Ohio, Cameron Shannon of Crescent Elementary School in Raleigh County, Tanya Stewart of Gilmer County Elementary School and Shari Tonkery of Lumberport Elementary School in Harrison County.

The remaining finalists for West Virginia Service Staff of the Year include: Michelle Clark, of Harrisville Elementary School in Ritchie County; Susan Clark, of Warm Springs Middle School in Morgan County; Jeff Coleman, of John Marshall High School in Marshall County; Marketta Crum, from Beale Elementary School in Mason County; Melissa Fuller, of Huff Consolidated Elementary and Middle School in Wyoming County; Jessica Grose, from Hodgesville Elementary School in Upshur County; Glenna Johnston of Peterson-Central Elementary School in Lewis County; Hannah Rexrode, of Mineral County Schools in Mineral County.

Comments are closed.